Street Fight Secrets
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Street Fight Secrets

Intelligent Self Protection Solutions: Combative Psychology and Street Applied Martial Arts

HomeHome  SearchSearch  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  

martial arts and weights

Go down 
+11
ronin
Danish Tom
paulb
Sergei
RCS
Loki
Richard Grannon
Dominance
ncw
Ben
AdamM
15 posters
AuthorMessage
AdamM

martial arts and weights Empty
PostSubject: martial arts and weights   martial arts and weights EmptyMon Feb 25, 2008 4:52 pm

I've been dodging the gym for a few years. Don't generally like 'gym people' and have also been avoiding the expense. However, as I rocket through my 30s I'm slowing down and changing shape and without hitting the gym, it's only going to get worse.

So I joined up, had an induction session and actually enjoyed it a lot more than I expected to.

What I'm after is advice on weights / cardio programmes for martial artists, as well as general advice for eating habits to go with the training.

I'll be doing some reading myself, but I'm keen to here any advice from the members.

Cheers
Back to top Go down
Ben

PostSubject: Re: martial arts and weights   martial arts and weights EmptyMon Feb 25, 2008 5:48 pm

I was also thinking about joining a gym. Not long ago I went to check one out, seemed pretty cool, but I can't really afford it, so I was thinking about getting myself some dumbells. That way I can do it at home when I have time.

I know it's not as good as a gym, but it's better than nothing. Smile
Back to top Go down
ncw

PostSubject: Re: martial arts and weights   martial arts and weights EmptyMon Feb 25, 2008 11:00 pm

Two areas that are very important in regards to Self Protection training are Core Training and Grip Strength. These are also two areas that seem to get overlooked.