Street Fight Secrets
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Street Fight Secrets

Intelligent Self Protection Solutions: Combative Psychology and Street Applied Martial Arts

HomeHome  SearchSearch  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  

school teacher notes, etc...

Go down 
2 posters
AuthorMessage
thugsage
Admin
thugsage

school teacher notes, etc... Empty
PostSubject: school teacher notes, etc...   school teacher notes, etc... EmptyWed Sep 24, 2008 7:08 pm

my school is canceling my unit on football (U.S. football) as roughly 1/2 dozen injuries have surfaced within 3 weeks. this is based on the myth that the injuries were sustained by testosterone-induced agression.

BTW: i'm a PE teacher
some of the reasons for the injuries include:
1. someone not looking where they were going and headbutting a large boy's shoulder (mild concussion)
2. someone stumbling whilst jogging, and during the small gesture of steadying his fall...breaking a small bone in his wrist (warm up jog)
3. someone (whoops) colliding with another wide boy whilst running, and tearing a tendon in his finger (and also dislocating said finger)--healing time 12 weeks
4. random girl (problem absent mindedly lumped in with the stats) falling down some steps--now on crutches (she's a seizure risk)
5. boy playing football (not in my class--but it was that dreaded football) and injuring his knee and ankle--also on crutches.
6. girl thwacked in the nose and eye, during a modified sissy-fied all girl game--just to keep things safe (no throwing was allowed, just laterals and running, hmmm...not safe enough)
7. boy with an ankle injury, due to falling about 6 times in one game because (and there's no other way to say this because no contact was involved) he's a clutz.

i added my 2 cents (and this is a quote):
"i've taken every precaution short of having them stand in place and wave feather dusters around."