Street Fight Secrets

Intelligent Self Protection Solutions: Combative Psychology and Street Applied Martial Arts
 
HomeHome  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Share | 
 

 hope you guys think this is relevant just need an opinion

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
chris norris



Posts : 2
Join date : 2008-04-03

PostSubject: hope you guys think this is relevant just need an opinion   Thu Apr 03, 2008 2:57 am

hi this is my first topic and it has realy buged me since the day it happend.

this memory has stook with me since it happend and i swear this is no b.s. one day after school i was attacked on a tesco car park by a bloke whod been looking for my friend for some time he couldnt find him so he got me. the bloke pulled something out of his poket i saw him make the move but only thought he was takeing his phone out of his pocket but then he flicked it and extended into a cosh. he started runing at me and my legs were trying to run but i just stood there and got hit. i managed to get the bloke on the floor were he continued to hit me (my head is still full of lumps and scars today) i got a few punches to his face but i finaly managed to eventually stick my thumb in his eye he soon let go of the cosh and a cuple of older men pulled us apart i was a total mess physically and emotionaly couldt go out constantly thought i was going to get attacked i left a group of friends and havent spoke to them since. doctors just said there was nothing wrong with me other than the external damage. well thats my story but the question im asking is when i saw the cosh extend and my legs tried to run but my brain just wouldnt let me and im being serious now its like i couldnt move how ever much i new it would hurt and it did i just accepted it i no today i should of run but at the time i just stood still. has anything like this ever happend to any one on here. oh and im 19 if any one is wondering it hapend on febuary 8th 2005 when i was 16. and i must apologise for my spelling aswell if it bothers any one

chris
Back to top Go down
Ben



Posts : 63
Join date : 2008-02-19
Age : 28
Location : Birmingham

PostSubject: Re: hope you guys think this is relevant just need an opinion   Thu Apr 03, 2008 10:42 am

I've had this before too, it's not very nice, like you can't control what you want to do. I was walking through a field with two mates, and about half way across it we saw a load of heads moving on the other side of the hedge. Then suddenly loads of lads started pouring into the field, and they blocked off the exits so we couldn't get past them.

At the time I was thinking i should run, but for some reason we just put our heads down and kept on walking straight through them, being naive and thinking maybe they wont do anything. Next thing I know I got punched in the face from behind and then again on the back. One mate ran back, but they chased him and kicked him to the floor. Afterwards my mates told me that I didn't get punched, and they actually hit me with a huge stick.

It annoys me when things like this happen, you wish you could of done something but instead just didn't do it, and you don't even know why but it just happened. Always frustrates me.
Back to top Go down
RichardB



Posts : 603
Join date : 2008-02-26

PostSubject: Re: hope you guys think this is relevant just need an opinion   Thu Apr 03, 2008 11:55 am

I believe our first instinct, as well as for most other animals is to first freeze, so that the predator won't see us. Remember we've got a lizard and a little dog in the head with us and all that. That's the default stuff the amygdala (or automatic survival doodad) will respond with. Adrenal stress training will help make new and better imprints in this part of our brains. Another reason why people experience "getting stuck" like that is if they begin percieving time in slow motion, and then it seems like they're not moving because last time they moved it happened a lot faster.

Back to training though. I remember a fight a fight I had once when all my training just vanished. The guy held me by the jacket collar. As I was training muay Thai at the time you'd think that wouldn't be the worst of positions to be in, but I hadn't trained enough. I reverted to just trying to punch the hell out of him, but his arms were longer than mine and when he flinched from the first few blows (and him holding my jacket collar) my arms were too short to reach his head. Laughing Then his buddy comes around on my left and tries to punch me in the head. And this is where it gets wierd. I'm not consciously aware of the guy, but somehow managed to dodge or roll with the punch while kicking off to my side and plant my foot right in his ribs, sendin him on his ass off the sidewalk. His face looked something like this: Shocked and so did mine. I looked over at my friend some distance away, but realized it was me.

That one kick was something I used to do as a kid in my room when I was bored, just kicking imaginary ninjas numbering in the hundreds day after day after day. So much for hobbies... Basically freestyle kata with some visualization I suppose. so long story short. It starts, I stand there going "Bduuuuuh" and then some odd bit off training meets it's criteria and it happens. I think training along those lines may have some merit.
Back to top Go down
Sergei

avatar

Posts : 147
Join date : 2008-02-29

PostSubject: Re: hope you guys think this is relevant just need an opinion   Thu Apr 03, 2008 1:10 pm

~


Last edited by Sergei on Tue Apr 22, 2008 10:40 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top Go down
Pete



Posts : 21
Join date : 2008-03-30

PostSubject: Re: hope you guys think this is relevant just need an opinion   Thu Apr 03, 2008 7:15 pm

Im not 100% sure but i think a so to say overdose of adrenaline can cause the sort of shock that paralyses people in the way you descirbed it. But that sure aint the only possible expenation. I would guess sort of getting used to adrenaline might be helpful at least to a certain point. But still it can happen to everyone. There just are reactions of the body that are impossible to control. Some are positive and some are negative, some can be influenced to a certain stage and others cant.
It sure is an awful story. I hope your body will keep it in its memory and react different in case such a thing would ever happen again. Another thing that might be helpful is the stuff Richard offers. I remember one video where he talks to Bob Spour and Bob ask him whats going on in his mind when it comes to trouble. Richards answer was "here we go". This sort of positive expectations have a very big influence.
Im sure the chef de la board will be able to tell you more about that. Smile

ps i think its highly relevant
Back to top Go down
RCS



Posts : 33
Join date : 2008-02-22

PostSubject: Re: hope you guys think this is relevant just need an opinion   Fri Apr 04, 2008 4:24 pm

I've been reading a book by Dave Grossman entitled On Combat and it deals with the mind-body link and what happens to police and soldiers under the stress of life and death situations. He cites a study in which police officers involved in shootings experienced a number of strange physical/psychological reactions during their incidents. In this study 65% experienced "slow motion" time and 7% experienced "paralysis". One of the ways he mentions to overcome these issues is to occasionally make your training as realistic (stressful) as possible to acclimate your mind and body to fear causing situations.
Back to top Go down
RichardB



Posts : 603
Join date : 2008-02-26

PostSubject: Re: hope you guys think this is relevant just need an opinion   Sun Apr 06, 2008 1:04 am

True. Basically we've got (in Grossman's terms) a puppy in our heads. AKA the limbic brain, and it will react with panic and other inappropriate behaviors unless otherwise trained. And the only way to show it what to do is by imprinting new behaviors in relatively stressed up states. Visualization stuff like what is in the psychology of violence products takes you quite a bit. Real adrenal stress scenario based training will get you even further.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: hope you guys think this is relevant just need an opinion   

Back to top Go down
 
hope you guys think this is relevant just need an opinion
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Joyce Meyers word from the Lord ministered to me- hope it ministers to you
» BAC Decision Against HOPE
» Can the HOPE disapprove a "vetoed" Resolution of Award?
» IT'S TIME FOR SOME FUN GUYS
» How's fall migraine wise for you guys?....

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Street Fight Secrets :: Psychology-
Jump to: